We Need Your Help

Remember in my post the other day, when I shared 10 Reasons to have a No Spend Season?   I mentioned in there, that there are many things we can and should say no to, but sometimes we need to let wisdom speak louder than our no. This is one of those times.

I haven’t shared via this blog, but my dad was diagnosed with incurable Stage 4 Liver Cancer a few months ago. It’s been taxing for him and my mom. He has chosen a natural healing treatment and so far he’s doing well and feeling well. We are trusting both God and the process, walking each day with faith. However, when push comes to shove, treatment is still treatment whether it’s natural or medical, and it costs money.  Along with the regular day in and day out bills of life, expenses are just adding up and becoming burdensome. God has been faithful in providing, but I think sometimes he also asks the community that is the world to give because it’s the human thing to do.

 

//funds.gofundme.com/js/5.0/media-widget.js” target=”_blank” rel=”noopener”>Click HERE to donate

life saving medical fund by Don Smith - GoFundMe

From my Dad: “In April of 2010, I was rushed to the hospital in early morning hours where we found I had a large cancerous tumor in my stomach that broke open and started bleeding. I lost 80 percent of my blood before the surgeon was able to operate to remove the tumor. For 5 days the medical world did not know whether or not I was going to live. I had a second surgery 5 months later to remove more of the cancer affected area which resulted in the total loss of 60 percent of my stomach. In 2013 the internal stitching in my stomach tore and I lost 70 percent of my blood before a surgeon could repair it. That was the second time I should have died but did not. These three issues with this cancer cost me $120,000, some of which are still outstanding. This past March my oncologist informed me that the cancer had traveled to my liver and I now have an incurable stage 4 liver cancer condition about which my Dr. has said nothing can be done.  I have had to start a cancer recovery program using all natural foods, supplements, and herbs. Because insurances will not cover these very expensive items I have had to choose to buy them at the expense of other things that are necessary for normal life or go without. I do not know how to cover all I have before me unless I get some help from those who are willing to contribute.”

My parents have worked hard, but right now they just need some extra finances and are asking for some help through Go Fund Me. 

If you are able, would you donate? Even $5.00. I know every penny of it will be used in a worthy manner. In advance, our family thanks you for helping.

Love and Thanks,

Chrystal

Published by

The Smallwood Parsonage

An adventure seeking, simple living, garden growing ministry family.

One thought on “We Need Your Help”

  1. Good morning Chrystal, THANK YOU for sharing your story. You are correct in many ways medical bills accumulate really quickly, which makes it VERY difficult to pay with a normal income. I am sorry to hear that your family is going through this trying time with your father’s health crisis. My family too experienced a family crisis last October when my son in law was hit while on his motorcycle resulting in him losing his leg. The young driver of the vehicle was not insured and although my daughter and son in law had full coverage insurance they found out they did not have the uninsured motorist portion. So in short the insurance totaled the motorcycle and paid that off but nothing else! With two emergency surgeries, rehab, prosthetic leg, continued on going treatment and Dr. appts oh and not to mention the expense of having to make changes to their home to accommodate his new disability it’s been VERY expensive. Through all of this we have had family, neighbors, friends and strangers donate to our family in many ways!!!! We hear all the time of all of the hate, crime, bigotry and racial divide that is among us leaving us feeling scared, unsafe, un-trusting. We become SO focused on this negativity that we forget that there are STILL so many good hearted God fearing people in the world of all Faiths, All Races and All Ethnic backgrounds. I would love to pay it forward and send your family a donation like was done to our family over this last year. I feel very strongly that we are expected by GOD to help each other just as he helps us each and every day. My only concern is the Go Fund Me…. My daughter and son in law also had a go fund me account set up and I was not happy about the fee structure they have and if you received over a certain amount you may be responsible to pay taxes on donations received. These fees/taxes take away from the direct need of the recipient. If you have a paypal account or a P.O. Box I would rather send my donation that way. It’s not like I have a lot to give but what ever I do give I want your Mom and Dad to get it all and not have to have money deducted from it. 🙂 Your family will be in my prayers! Stay strong, You are the rock for your parents!

    Like

Leave a comment